Accredited at A+ Level by NAAC. 'College with Potential for Excellance.' ISO 9001 : 2008 Certified. Recipient of Best Rural College Award by University of Pune 2009-10.



            The department of physics was established in the year 1971-72 with the objective making physics learning interesting and applicable. The department started offering Physics as principal subject at 3rd Year level since 1979-80 while P.G. course was introduced in 1990-91 to cater the needs of students willing to pursue higher education in the subjects. Physics department’s faculty members played an important role in development of Physics departments in sister institutes of education society a) Ploy technique college, b)Engineering college, c) Computer Science department of the college, d) Women’s polytechnique college, e) MCVC of junior college, e) Electronics Department of the college. Project based learning is compulsory at U.G. & P.G. Level. Among the 7 faculty members one is a Ph. D. holder and three M. Phil degree holder.

             The faculty have involved in the academic curriculum designed by the university continuously for three years F.Y.B.Sc.2008-09. ; S.Y.B.Sc.2009-10, and T.Y.B.Sc.2010-11. The success rate at P. G. and U. G. level is 100 %. Our faculty members use internet and other educational aids for updating their knowledge & teaching skills. Seminars are given by the students on different topics including practical. Study tours, visit to industry and research institute help our students in their independent learning practices.

                Student teacher relations are very friendly due to which we can shape the carrier as per their ability and capability which results in 100% placement of our students. Our teachers constantly upgrade themselves by attending orientation courses, refreshers courses, workshops, seminars, symposia, conferences. Mr. G. T. Shirole and Dr Dighe P. M. have completed the minor projects funded by BCUD. Student and teacher visit Pravara Medical Trust, Fergusson College, Pune University, NCL, GMRT, etc. Every year our students are selected for Advance Diploma in radiotherapy at Tata Memorial Hospital Mumbai. The selection is on the basis of written tests and interview at national level. All these selected students get stipend of Rs. 6000/- per month. We encourage and provide guidance to students for different competitive examinations. We feel proud to say that all our students are employed in different fields like industries, IT, research, civil services, defense services medical fields, etc.

                As a social commitment teachers and students of our department visit nearby villages, farm laborers and organize meetings to popularize renewable energy sources. During the visit social awareness about the efficient use of agricultural pumps sets, home appliances and renewable energy sources so that electricity will be saved. Women are trained to use solar cooker, solar drier, solar lantern and other devices. This is a unique social activity of our department.

              Continuous disciplined efforts of the faculty member’s results in providing the responsible and good citizen to society.  


Faculty Profile (2011-2012).

   Sr.No.     Name      Designation     Qualifications. 
   1.      Prof. Dengle K.P.      Associate Professor       M.Sc. M.Phil.
   2.       Prof. Dethe A.P.      Associate Professor       M.Sc. D.H.E.
   3.       Prof. Shirole G.T.       Associate Professor       M.Sc. M.Phil. D.H.E.
   4.       Dr. Dighe P.M      Assistant Professor       M.Sc. Ph.D.
   5.       Prof. Anarthe S.S.      Assistant Professor       M.Sc. M.Phil.
   6.       Prof. Bhatkute S.D.       Assistant Professor         M.Sc.  
    7.      Ms.M. R. Sandan      Assistant Professor       M.Sc. 

Achievements of Department.

•Project based learning mechanism is compulsory to all final year B.Sc. and M.Sc. students along with teaching. Learners are
  trained ethically , morally with national spirit in minds of students.

•Students are encouraged, counseled face to face for higher education, research opportunities and also for placement. The
  placement for our students is almost 100% in diversified fields. class="MsoNormal">  

•Project based learning mechanism is compulsory to all final year B.Sc. and M.Sc. students along with teaching. Learners are
  trained ethically , morally with national spirit in minds of students.

•To solve the academic and personal difficulties we interact regularly with students face to face. This helps to increase
  boldness and enhance their confidence level globally.

• As a social commitment, teachers and students often visit nearby villages for popularization of renewable sources so as to
  overcome energy crises and global warming. With the help of live demonstration uses of renewable energy sources are
  explained to village people.

•UGC career oriented course MAREEDA is conducted in our department.

•Under restructuring scheme in ‘C’ component we conduct the course “ENERGY STUDIES”

•To understand basic concepts and to eliminate misconceptions, we arrange seminars, oral and interact strongly with learners. •Feasibility of conducting the research oriented, innovative type , inter disciplinary projects are made available to students.  •Computer and internet facilities are available in the department

 •Our past students Mr. Narhe Ramchandra passed M.Sc. from here in 1993, completed Ph.D. in physics from Pune University
  in 2001 is awarded Marie Curie international award by European commission and also awarded CLRS Post Doctoral
  fellowship by France Government. He contributed in Natural Nanostructure Science and technology.  

• Finally our faculty feels Physics teaching and learning is a continuous process and an exciting activity Physics explores us
  more and more information regarding the nature. 


    Our Inspiration

Padmashri Dr. Vitthalrao Vikhe Patil, the pioneer of Sugar Co-operative movement, who had a humble beginning, was chiefly instrumental in, organizing the much exploited sugarcane 'growers of the 44 villages, in and around Pravaranagar, way back in 1948, and establishing Asia's first co-operative sugar factory, which was commissioned in 1950.