Accredited at A+ Level by NAAC. 'College with Potential for Excellance.' ISO 9001 : 2008 Certified. Recipient of Best Rural College Award by University of Pune 2009-10.



               Department of Biotechnology at undergraduate level with intake capacity of 44 students was started in 2004 and at post graduate level in 2008 with intake capacity of 24 students. Department has its credit a major project on star college scheme of about 77 lacks sanctioned by Department of Biotechnology, Government of India and sixteen publications in different national and international journals. Staff members Mr. M.S. Aher and Mr. V. V. Tungikar qualified CSIR-UGC NET. Mr. T. D. Patil qualified GATE. Mrs. J. S. Pattan has submitted her Ph.D. thesis and eight PG students qualified GATE. Mr. Ajay Labade and Mr. Dheeraj Dhadiwal won first prize at University level research project competition AVISHKAR during year 2008-09 and 2009-10 consecutively. Department has organized two workshops on molecular biology and ‘Biotech Reunion’ alumni meet in July, 2011.

                Department has separate Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Plant and Animal Tissue culture, Microbiology, Bioscience and Bioinformatics laboratories with broadband internet facility. Departmental library has 92 reference books and 120 e-books as well as 180 project reports database.

                 Eligibility criteria for B. Sc (undergraduate) admission is H. S. C. science with 50% while for M.Sc (postgraduate) 60% for open and 55% for reserved category. Department is also involved in consultancy and extension services like effluent water treatment, plant establishment, novel bio-fertilizers and pesticides formulations.  


Faculty Profile (2011-2012).

   Sr.No.     Name      Designation     Qualifications. 
   1.      Mr.Patil T.D.      Assistant Professor           M.Sc. GATE.
   2.       Mr.Kakad S.L.      Assistant Professor       M.Sc.
   3.       Mrs.Pattan J.S.      Assistant Professor      M.Sc.
   4.       Mr.Aher M.S.      Assistant Professor      M.Sc.NET,GATE.
   5.       Mr.Tungikar V.V.      Assistant Professor      M.Sc.NET,GATE.


Achievements of Department.

• DBT has sanctioned STAR COLLEGE scheme in life science to college which is coordinated by Department of Biotechnology. • Department had won first prize at state level in Avishkar 2007-08 & 2008-09 university level project competitions.

•Students had completed their training programmers in various institutes.

•Department had successfully organized alumni meet on 30th and 31st July, 2011

• Department had successfully organized seminars and two workshops sponsored by University of Pune.   


    Our Inspiration

Padmashri Dr. Vitthalrao Vikhe Patil, the pioneer of Sugar Co-operative movement, who had a humble beginning, was chiefly instrumental in, organizing the much exploited sugarcane 'growers of the 44 villages, in and around Pravaranagar, way back in 1948, and establishing Asia's first co-operative sugar factory, which was commissioned in 1950.